Heavy Metal (Take A Ride)
Heavy Metal Soundtrack (1981)

Reviews

Don Felder was AMAZING!! He rocks!!!

The Avalon Ballroom Theatre At Niagara Fallsview Casino Resort - Niagara Falls, ON - Fri, Feb 10, 2012

This concert was absolutely fantastic!! I felt like I was at an EAGLES concert. Don's band members have amazing voices and can really rock their instruments!! I'm looking forward to his next CD coming out in April as this is one I can't miss!

 

EAGLES HITS ! !

Pearl Concert Theater at Palms Casino Resort - Las Vegas, NV - Sat, Oct 20, 2012

Don Felder is a master guitaists, great sounds, solid band, all the Eagles hits, his new CD was performed, fantastic time ! Long set, all the deep tracks as wall...

 

High Energy Awesome Guitar Playing

Pearl Concert Theater at Palms Casino Resort - Las Vegas, NV - Sat, Oct 20, 2012

Don Felder was in great form and his band was an awesome cohesive compliment to him.

 

Don Felder was an awesome show! Get up close!

Pearl Concert Theater at Palms Casino Resort - Las Vegas, NV - Sat, Oct 20, 2012

Don Felder was excellent. Great drummer, great singing bass player and singing keyboard player, and great rhythm guitarist. Good small venue in front row was awesome. What a class act. After the show and encore, Don Felder came out to sign autographs and talk with the remaining audience. What a professional who really gets it. Not the typical dramatic head case musician embroiled in his own fragile ego. Mr. Felder seems to understand that his fans appreciate his music new and old, his professional technique playing guitar, and his disposition as a normal fun loving guy like the rest of us.

Favorite moment: When the band played "Take a ride" from Heavy Metal soundtrack. Awesome.

Setlist: Hotel California, Peaceful easy feeling, SRV Pride and Joy, witchy woman, wash away, those shoes, already gone, seven bridges road, Victim of love, one of these nights, The long run, heartache tonight, life in the fast lane, tequilla sunrise, Fall from the grace of love, girls in black, over you, and encore of Take it easy. Awesome show.

 

The REAL music of the Eagles

Pearl Concert Theater at Palms Casino Resort - Las Vegas, NV - Sat, Oct 20, 2012

Don Felder was great! He's an accomplished musician, and it shows. You see/hear where the core of the Eagles sound came from! I wasn't sure what he was going to play, but he played many Eagles tunes, and he has a new album out, and the songs he played were good tunes. The band's vocals were incredible! They pulled off Eagle material with no problem. Don is THE sound of the music of the Eagles, and he doesn't get the spotlight, nor does he look for it....he's the real deal.

Favorite moment: Opening with Hotel California (which he wrote!)

 

every bit as good as Eagles

Pearl Concert Theater at Palms Casino Resort - Las Vegas, NV - Sat, Oct 20, 2012

gr8 show without the attitude/ ego of Eagles. He did every song of eagles so well; you would never know it was not Eagles playing. He is such a gr8 guitarist..as good as Joe Walsh. He has a gr8 band as well. He played so many of the old Eagles catalog of hits. He has a wonderful, friendly personality on stage. GR8 show all around.

 

Don Felder rocks the Pearl

Pearl Concert Theater at Palms Casino Resort - Las Vegas, NV - Sat, Oct 20, 2012

Fantastic show! Don Felder played a mix of Eagle Hits and some selections from his new album.

He started off with Hotel California, playing his famous double neck guitar. They even played the fantastic Seven Bridges Road halfway thru the show. Music and vocals were flawless. Felder talked to the crowd and told stories, and really seemed to be enjoying the Vegas crowd.

We had front row center seats, it was magical!

I highly recommend this show, the musical song track to our lives in the 70's and early 80's!

Favorite moment: Hearing 7 Bridges Road live

 

Simply Awesome!

Talking Stick Resort - Scottsdale, AZ - Fri, Oct 19, 2012

Played the similar set as July 2012 except with an added 3 new songs from the new CD. Makes it look sooooo easy. Was lucky enough to meet with him backstage ATS and he looked like he was ready to do a show (not at the end of one). Saw the Joe Walsh show 2 weeks prior. Both are super guitarists and singers. Worth a ticket!

Favorite moment: Did not know that he wrote the song Heavy Metal. Great!

 

Don doesn't have the vocals that Frey and Henley bring to the songs, but he sure has the music! He played for just shy of two hours. He and his band look like they have a great time working together. Overall, I was impressed.

 

Don Felder is still amazing!

Talking Stick Resort - Scottsdale, AZ - Fri, Oct 19, 2012

Don Felder can still rock it with that guitar!! He is truly amazing!

 

Fan-tabulous Show!

City Winery - New York, NY - 09/13/2012

We just saw the show in NYC and were blown away ! The energy was electrifying and the songs were amazing! We waited and counted the days until that show and as far as I'm concerned, we could have watched all night long. The song list was perfect; opening with Hotel California set the tone for the evening. Seven Bridges Road heart stopping. Sat right at the stage edge and when Don played SRV's Pride and Joy, I thought I was going to die.

I certainly hope this tour takes another loop around the northeast as I will go again and again!

Thanks DF! Amazing "fingers"!

Favorite moment: My favorite moment was giving Don a kiss !

 

Hard Rock Live - Biloxi, MS - Fri, Jul 13, 2012

t was one of the best shows I have seen in a long time. You will not miss that the "Eagles" are not there especially since they have turned to country music. The harmony for Seven Bridges Road was beyond amazing. If you did not know otherwise, you would have sworn it was the Eagles singing 30 years ago. Don appears to really love what he is doing, it's not just a job. The venue was great, but I have not seen a bad performance at this venue.

Favorite moment: The entire show and the perfect harmony of Seven Bridges Road

 

Don Felder puts on a Killer show, a must see!

Hard Rock Live - Biloxi, MS - Fri, Jul 13, 2012

Absolutely a great show with one of this eras premier guitar players. He rips from the beginning, smiling the whole way through and definitely enjoys what he is doing and it shows. A master that is smooth all the way through.

You will not regret seeing this axe man, virtually an unknown master at his art.

Favorite moment: Playing the song "Those Shoes", I believe it was off the long run album.

 

Don & his band were AWESOME.

Hard Rock Live - Biloxi, MS - Fri, Jul 13, 2012

Don brought the old eagles songs to life with his energy on stage & a great band play'in with him. tickets were at a great price. Don is a rock n roll ICON. HOPE THE HARD ROCK GETS HIM BACK AGAIN.

Favorite moment: being up close & watching him play the solo at the end of HOTEL CALIFORNIA.

 

Hard Rock Live - Biloxi, MS - Fri, Jul 13, 2012

It was fantastic. My husband was like a kid in a candy store. Loved Don way back when and still thinks he is great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

A really good time!

Hard Rock Live - Hollywood, FL - Thu, Jun 7, 2012

Don played my very favorites, one after the other! I smiled the whole time.

Sound quality could be improved much, but as a rock show from a guy who's been playing 45 years...LOTS OF FUN!!

Favorite moment: The opening chord for each song!

 

Just like in 1976

Hard Rock Live - Hollywood, FL - Thu, Jun 7, 2012

Saw the Eagles in '76, Mr. Felder was even better than back then. Played all the songs you wanted to hear. His back up band was excellent, the missing Eagles were not missed at all.The vocals & harmonies were perfect. So many guitar solos! get there on time because Hotel California was first!

Favorite moment: singing along, Take it easy....7 bridge road!

 

The Avalon Ballroom Theatre At Niagara Fallsview Casino Resort - Niagara Falls

Bottom line is this concert was fabulous. A lot of talent in this band.

 

felder was awesome.

The Avalon Ballroom Theatre At Niagara Fallsview Casino Resort - Niagara Falls

felder is better off without the eagles! Them screwing him was the best thing to happen to him. he's clearly happy on stage and with his new life

Favorite moment: felder's smiles as he's pleasng the crowd

 

 

Felder Rocks!

Fitz Casino Tunica - Robinsonville, MS - Sat, Dec 3, 2011

This show was great! The only complaint I have is that it didn't last long enough. He is an amazing guitarist and the Eagles lost a good man.

Favorite moment: I loved the tribute to Stevie Ray Vaughn. Wow!

 

Still has IT!!!

Fitz Casino Tunica - Robinsonville, MS - Sat, Dec 3, 2011

As most older professionals do, Felder started on time and played all the favorites. Never knew he could sing with The Eagles, but he and the band did a great job on all vocals including the accapella "Seven Bridges Road"! Don has surrounded himself with first class pros and they play a pretty tight set. His guitar work is outstanding and he really seemed to be having a great time. My wife brought along his book and he was gracious enough to autograph it. THANKS, Don, for a great evening of super music!!

 

The Real Don

Fitzgerald's Casino - Tunica, MS - 12/03/2011

The pride of Alachua County, Don Felder put on a great show in an intimate setting, then stood on stage and greeted the fans afterward. Kept saying he could only sign one or two more. Stayed at least long enough for me to get an autograph. What a wonderful contrast to the big twin heads of the Egoles.

Every song was an Eagles hit, with the exception of the Stevie Ray Vaughn song and Felders mid 90's solo "Heavy Metal." If memory serves correct, he also handled the lead vocals on all of the songs too. The voice was good, but the guitar was outstanding. After all, his guitar was the reason he was brought into the Eagles. Hat's off to the band and the sound man.

As far as I'm concerned, the Eagles hit their peak with the addition of Felder to the original four man lineup. They dropped a few notches with the castoffs of Leadon and Meisner, and I don't care to see the current version of the Egoles. I would love to see some sort of a reunion of Leadon, Meisner, and Felder. Maybe someday

 

Great concert!!!!!

Fitz Casino Tunica - Robinsonville, MS - Sat, Dec 3, 2011

Don Felder is a great musician! Did not know he sang that great! His band members were super talented! He seemed to be having a blast! He stayed well after the concert and made sure he signed autographs for everyone that wanted it. Great Concert!

Favorite moment: Meeting Don Felder

 

Don Felder - still soaring!

Fitzgerald's Casino - Tunica MS (south of Memphis) - 12/03/2011

Don, and his band's, performance last evening was everyting I anticipated and more!

Non-stop guitar artistry and hit-after-hit-after hit. He threw in one Stevie Ray Vaughn, Pride and Joy, and received standing applause for it too! I believe Don used a different guitar for every song, bringing back only one (silver) once. Of course, he used the famous white 'twin neck' for Hotel California!

Have followed Don with the Eagles and ever since. His 2008 best seller, Heaven & Hell - My Life in the Eagles, provides unique insight into this wonderful musician's skills and temperament - a welcome balance to some of the other Eagle personalities..

I personally appreciated being able to see his show in a smaller venue (ninth row, center) vs. larger arena or stadium settings. Don is definitely an 'audience-friendly' entertainer. He shared the backgronds of many of the songs, laughed and genuinely appeared to be having a good time.

After closing Don remained on stage signing autographs and chatting until the last person received theirs (how often do we experience that with mega-stars today?). Again, typical Don Felder - VERY well received and much appreciated.

MS, TN and AR were treated to a wonderful show last night. Appeared all present knew it was a rare treat to catch one of his shows. Let's hope Don returns soon!

Favorite moment: Literally, the entire show! Not one misstep or disengaged moment.

 

Felder Awesome

The Avalon Ballroom Theatre At Niagara Fallsview Casino Resort - Niagara Falls

Don and his band but on a great show would definitely go see him again.

Wish he was still with the EAGLES.

Felder still makes guitar sparks fly!

The Avalon Ballroom Theatre At Niagara Fallsview Casino Resort - Niagara Falls

Don Felder & Co. was MOST EXCELLENT! If we had a lighter we would have flicked it.

 

Don Felder was awesome!

Lakeland Center Youkey Theatre - Lakeland, FL - Sat, Dec 4, 2010

Had a great time at the Don Felder concert at Lakeland Center on 12/4/10! Great venue, great music!

 

Don Felder still has it

Lakeland Center Youkey Theatre - Lakeland, FL - Sat, Dec 4, 2010

The show was just great. Don Felder hasn't lost his touch and the bass player provided a little 'eye candy' for the ladies as well.

 

A dream come true!

Lakeland Center Youkey Theatre - Lakeland, FL - Sat, Dec 4, 2010

It's hard to find the words to describe the emotion of finally getting there... all dark and he arrives on stage, as if it is the most normal thing: Don Felder began to play, in front of us... and with him and his guitar, the magic also began. The show was great... the band also (great voices and great also Frank Simes!!!!). Every song was a blast! It was just too quick... when it finished I thought it was just a break. We cannot get tired of listening to him. His guitar solos are the best of the best. WOW! And in the end, Don was supernice, spent half an hour signing books and chatting with us, as if he was really a big family.. enjoying each other so much. So pleased and happy with everything. Thanks Don for being such an amazing talent and such a kind person!

Favorite moment: One of these nights / His new song, dedicated to his fiancee. Extremely beautiful.

 

Don Felder, Guitar God!

Lakeland Center Youkey Theatre - Lakeland, FL - Sat, Dec 4, 2010

I think the title says it all, but Don is one of the most awesome musicians and guitarists that I have ever met! Of course we all heard his work on the many Eagles hits that he helped make happen, and I found out at his concert in Lakeland, Florida, that he is still one of our good old boys, very talented and humble - God Bless You, Don!

 

Felder still rocks!

Lakeland Center Youkey Theatre - Lakeland, FL - Sat, Dec 4, 2010

Loved him as a member of the Eagles, and he's still an incredible musician. He gave just as good a performance as a solo artist, with an amazing back up band. I 'd definitely go see him again.

Favorite moment: He got thing off to a great start with "Hotel California" Watching him play that double neck guitar was awesome!

 

Lakeland Center Youkey Theatre - Lakeland, FL - Sat, Dec 4, 2010

We had a great time at his show. I did not realize how many of the hit song he had written with the Eagles. I would recommend seeing his show. I will go again when he returns.

 

Don Felder Rocks!

Lakeland Center Youkey Theatre - Lakeland, FL - Sat, Dec 4, 2010

Don Felder, and his band are a perfect example of true professionalism and showmanship. These guys had fun as they played for us. So smooth and polished. Even though on occasion, their harmonies were a bit pitchy, it was so minor, that most didn't even know and it certainly did not hurt their overall sound. I would certainly go back should they come back to play again.

Favorite moment: My favorite moment started when the band started and lasted until the end of their oncore.

Don Felder concert was Awesome!

Lakeland Center Youkey Theatre - Lakeland, FL - Sat, Dec 4, 2010

Don Felder opened with Hotel California, switched out Guitars for every song and every one of them had an incredible sound. I can't imagine how the Eagles think they can possibly live without him! All of his band member have huge credentials from Pink Floyd, Who, etc. - I would definitely recommend!

Favorite moment: Getting Don Felder's autograph at the end of the show!

 

Don Felder, Accomplished Guitarist

Pepperdine University - Malibu, CA - Sat, Oct 16, 2010

This is a once-in-a-lifetime unforgettable experience. Don Felder is truly a brilliant, gifted guitarist and entertainer with a genuine love of the music. For a rockin-good-time you will never forget, you need to see Don Felder live with the superb musicians and singers he surrounds himself with!

Favorite moment: Don Felders incredible guitar solo's, the intricacy with which he plays several guitars throughout the show

 

Freddy can Play!!

Pepperdine University - Malibu, CA - Sat, Oct 16, 2010

excellent band, tight music, spot-on harmonies - well worth the outlay. It's so fresh to see musicians start right on time, just have a good time, and play all of our old favorites.

Favorite moment: Freddy railing on the guitar for Pride & Jo

 

Don Felder ROCKS!!

Pepperdine University - Malibu, CA - Sat, Oct 16, 2010

Don Felder was great fun in Malibu! I wasn't too sure what to expect, but the Eagle hits were done well, with familar ripping lead gutiar. Don also had a great backing band too!

Pros: The above...also nothing from "Airborne"...a good thing!

Cons: None

Also, Don played a couple of Eagles songs from the time he was not in the band... a bit strange, I thought.... I also would have liked to have heard a bit of credit to the songwriters of the tunes (sorry Jack).

However, a great night...I WILL see him again!!

Favorite moment: Loved the band interaction!

 

Don Felder and Group

Pepperdine University - Malibu, CA - Sat, Oct 16, 2010

Don Felder and group were amazing. I could have gone right back in for another concert. I am a huge Eagles fan and had seen Don Felder perform with them several times. He was not given the exposure/attention he deserved. What a great find. Congratulations! Keep playing. I look forward to telling all and seeing you and your incredibly talented group again and again.

Favorite moment: All

 

Classic Night of Music!

BERGEN PERFORMING ARTS CENTER - Englewood, NJ - Thu, Aug 5, 2010

Well worth seeing! Don is a very talented, all around musician. His lead vocal ability was outstanding! He handled the Henley/Frey parts wonderfully. His backing band was just as talented. Excellent harmonies! I wish he toured more often. He's all about the music & having a good time. The PERFECT band member. If you're a fan of the Eagles you MUST read his book "Heaven and Hell."

I just wished they'd played more.

Favorite moment: "Victim of Love"

 

Felder & band OUTSTANDING!

BERGEN PERFORMING ARTS CENTER - Englewood, NJ - Thu, Aug 5, 2010

My husband and I went to the Bergen PAC to see the Don Felder concert and we were so glad we did. Don and his band gave an amazing performance that we enjoyed greatly. We hope he'll be back soon.

Favorite moment: The entire show

 

Very entertaining

BERGEN PERFORMING ARTS CENTER - Englewood, NJ - Thu, Aug 5, 2010

I saw the Eagles this year - and I must say Don was more entertaining then they were!

He has a great voice and can still sing the Eagles songs! and Heavy Metal - what a treat!

I would definitely see him again.

Don played a few songs that even the"band" doesn't do any longer!

 

Former Eagle Soars!

BERGEN PERFORMING ARTS CENTER - Englewood, NJ - Thu, Aug 5, 2010

Don Felder and his crack veteran band blistered through a set filled with iconic Eagles tunes, a heavy turn on a song from his solo album and a tribute to Stevie Ray Vaughan. The audience reciprocated with dancing, raucous shout outs and standing ovations.

Don Felder let you know through his tasty guitar work (without saying a word about his former bandmates) that his contribution was substantial and indeed left his indelible mark on some of the best music recorded by the Eagles.

A bit of a surprise were that song choices went through the entire Eagle catalog before their long separation including from the Eagle's first album through The Long Run notwithstanding Felder joined the band at the time of the recording of On The Border.

Overall, it was a great nite for music and fun. What more can you ask for?

Favorite moment: The opening riffs of Hotel California continuing through partying Already Gone and then an electric rendition of One of These Nights. Wow!

 

Felder Great Show!!! & Fingers can also sing!!!

BERGEN PERFORMING ARTS CENTER - Englewood, NJ - Thu, Aug 5, 2010

Don Felder last night was a great show at the BPAC. I first saw the Eagles at Roosevelt Stadium in Jersey City in 1976 (My first concert) and thirty-five years later still enjoy the music. Don Felder was amazing and his band was tight. Don sang all the old Eagles tunes and even did a great cover of Stevie Ray's Pride & Joy. Great version of Seven Bridges Road - Harmonies Perfect!!! Why didn't I know Don can sing. His voice was better than I thought. Must've been the ten cups of tea he drank during the show ha ha. Anyway go see a great guitarist and listen to the great songs which has kept a generation smiling. As I said in the title. Fingers can play and also sing. Enjoy - Highly Recommend

Favorite moment: Got chills when he started the show with the double neck white guitar singing Hotel California.

 

Don Felder was awesome!!

BERGEN PERFORMING ARTS CENTER - Englewood, NJ - Thu, Aug 5, 2010

Going to see this show, I was iffy, not knowing what music he would play. When he came up and started with Hotel California with his double-neck, I was completely won over. The entire night was relaxing. He had a great backup band: Perfect harmonies. I saw the Eagles at the Meadowlands Stadium back in June, but this show was a lot more intimate, especially how Don talked to us in the crowd after every song. He made you feel as if you were at home listening to the Eagles. Awesome night, would go see him again.

Favorite moment: Don's soloing on his standard tunes: Already Gone.

 

BERGEN PERFORMING ARTS CENTER - Englewood, NJ - Thu, Aug 5, 2010

Excellent, Excellent performance. Don Felder and group were outstanding

 

Felder IS the Eagles

BERGEN PERFORMING ARTS CENTER - Englewood, NJ - Thu, Aug 5, 2010

Don Felder may be one of the unsung, least noticed, most accomplished guitarists that rock has ever produced. During his show, it occurred to me that while The Eagles were an ensemble. without Felder they would never have written some of rock's most classic songs NOR would they have achieved a shred of the success they did. This was a fun show and he played virtually every song I would have liked to hear plus a few not expected and knocked them all out of the park.

VERY COOL!

 

 

 

Share This Item: